Take a Hike

Let me start off by explaining what my preconceived idea of what an hour and a half of yoga was going to be like:

1. Some sun salutations and standing on my head (which I can still do!)
2. Some deep breathing

Basically a relaxing session of stretching.

I would walk away feeling more flexible, stretched, and relaxed.

WRONG

After and intense hour and a half I left sore in strange places, muscles tight, and a deep knowing of how awful I would feel trying to roll myself out of bed the next day.

All of this would have been fine, if my my boyfriend and I had not planned a fun date at Starved Rock*. Hiking.
*

He had never been and I had only been a couple times, and never really hiked there.

So, I woke up the next morning and actually felt ok. I felt a little sore but nothing that I could not handle.

We set off, stopping for trail mix and Gatorade on the way (because we wanted to full effect)

We drive to the state park and stopped by the visitor center and found a map and a kind elderly man named John. This man should be in movies narrating something. He was Scottish or British something or other and was so incredibly helpful and sweet. He mapped out a route for us and uttered the words, “You two look like you are good walkers. It’s about five or six miles and it’s a lot of uphill and downhill, but you two could probably complete the trail in 3 or 4 hours”.

I put on my best poker face and smiled at this sweet old man, trying my very best not to shout, “I AM NOT A GOOD WALKER! I AM GOING TO NEED A WALKER AFTER THIS HIKE”.
But instead, I thanked him, grabbed my map, and we were off.

Let me tell you. It was hard. I was sweaty, my legs hurt, and my back. But we did it.

We walked the whole trail and saw some really beautiful canyons. We held hands, and took pictures, and experienced something new together (aren’t those first with your partner the greatest?).

All in all it was such a great day.

I can’t move.

But it was great.

Leave a Reply

