Mooooovie Review: Lone Surivor

Magic cow

That’s right ladies and gents, it is time for the first ever, super spectacular : Mooooovie Review by Emily!

My boyfriend and I go to a lot of movies. I mean, a lot.

According to my AMC stubs rewards card, since 1/15/13, we have seen 31 movies….

NOT KIDDING!

So, I thought it would be a lot of fun to do reviews of movies I have seen!

I always read articles an reviews and Facebook statuses with everyone giving their opinion.

So I am jumping on the bandwagon!

The first film I am reviewing and the last movie I have seen is The Lone Survivor

url

I saw this movie a while after it was released as you probably figured out.

What a heart wrenching movie.

This movie is rated R and extremely graphic. I am one who can usually handle gore and blood and this movie had me looking away a few times.

I thought maybe this movie would not be all that enjoyable because I knew what the ending was going to be.

I was wrong.

Actors Mark Wahlberg, Taylor Kitsch, Emile Hirsch, and others put on such believable and gut wrenching performances. Now, this is BASED ON A TRUE STORY!!! Yes this really happened, and more than anything I wanted to see this movie because I believed these men who lost their lives for my country I so proudly live in, deserved to have everyone see their faces and know their names. I believed that this story was being told and I needed to hear it out of respect for them.

It is hard to say too much without giving the movie away but a group of men are sent out on a mission and a small group of men stumble upon them. The Americans tie them up and are left with a few choices. They can kill these men, leave them tied up and leave, or let them go and hope they then do not run away and give away their position to the enemy.

Amazingly they let the men go, and sadly the men do run down to the enemy’s camp and give away the American’s position, which leads to a massive gun fight which leaves but one survivor Marcus Luttrell (who wrote a book telling his story, and worked very closely with filmmakers). What happens next is a touching tale of humanity and will leave you speechless.

I recommend everyone go see this movie. It will leave you crying and smiling. When you see pictures of those brave men who gave their lives at the end of the film you feel honored that you have seen them and watched their story. You will feel thankful.

I loved this movie, even if it was hard to watch at times.

Go see it!

And always comment and follow and give me your thoughts on the films I review!!!

Leave a Reply

