Mooooovie Review: The Monuments Men

That’s right, it’s that time again!

Emily’s Mooooovie Review

Magic cow

Next on my list to review is going to be The Monuments Men

MV5BMjMxMjk4NTM1M15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNjg0MjQ3MDE@._V1_SX214_

I originally was drawn to this movie because I saw the cast. I mean, anything with Bill Murray in it is a good movie for me but pair with him some George Clooney, Matt Damon, John Goodman, Cate Blanchett, it becomes impossible not to see.

This movie is about a special division of men out to save the art! This movie is based on real events, which instantly made me want to see it! These men braved war zones and Nazis to retrieve art that Hitler planned to destroy.

I really enjoyed this movie. I must say it was not all that terribly exciting but the great cast makes up for it and you never find yourself bored.

One of my favorite quotes from the movie is

“If you destroy their achievements, their history, it’s like they never existed”

Most people may not pay much attention to the art we have but imagine if it was not there.

I have been the the Louvre and I have seen the Mona Lisa

10117_1127137347824_850651_n

(Much smaller than I thought it would be)

Anyway, I have seen this great works of art and I have seen art my sister has made and art I have made I just think, what if none of this was here? What if we had nothing to show for ourselves…

And then the movie gained a whole new layer of meaning.

I would say this is one that you do not have to rush off to the theaters to see, BUT you should see it at some point!

Leave a Reply

