Featured Guest Blogger: Mrs. Casey Newvine

      Every now and then I want to have some very important people in my life share some of their thoughts on various topics in a little thing I like to call…. GUEST BLOGGING!!

I know, try to contain your excitement folks!!

         For my very first ever guest blogger, I want to introduce Mrs. Casey Newvine. We grew up down the road from each other, went to the same school, and I am now going to one of her bridesmaids!! I can’t wait for ya’ll to read all about her thoughts on getting married in your twenties!!!

 

Take it away Casey!

 

Image

 

Hello, Blogosphere.

      I’m super excited to be guest writing for my amazingly sweet friend, Em.

I used to write all the time, but ever since high school & college, I haven’t sat down with just a pen
and a pad in months.

        So, circling around the Internet lately have been these blogs/articles about why getting
married young seems to be the worst thing you could do for yourself.

I’ve seen arguments of,  “Live a little first”or “Travel, make mistakes, be your own person before marrying”,and
other comments like that.

This article in particular “23 Things To Do Instead of Getting Engaged Before You’re 23” (http://wanderonwards.com/2013/12/30/23-things-to-do-instead-of-getting-engaged-before-youre-23/) starts off with talking about the high divorce rate in America.

Now, I get that there are studies & statistics, but here’s where it gets me.

I could marry the wrong person at 21, just like I could at 31, 41, or 51.

Waiting won’t  make my marriage last, if it’s truly not meant to be.

I could date the same person for 20 years before tying the knot, marry him, then find out it’s not right.

Shit happens for all sorts of reasons.

       This article continues on by listing these random things you should apparently do at 22 & 23, instead of falling in love & letting your man put a ring on it.

      I’ve read this article maybe 4 or 5 times now, and each time all I can think is, “Damn, I want to punch this bitch in the face.”

     This list, to me, is totally irrelevant to marriage.

      So, you’re telling me, “Wanderonwards”, that if I complete this list of yours, I will be ready for marriage & I won’t become one of those people who divorce?

     Hmm.

So, for all those waiting, here’s the List & my wonderful, snarky comments added too.

1. Get a passport.

Did this at 13, thanks though.

 

 

2. Find your “thing.”

So, I guess I can’t explore myself & my own hobbies/interests if I have a life partner. Personally, being in a committed relationship has opened my life up to so many more possibilities than before. Before my now amazing & wonderful husband, I’d never shot a gun or considered hunting in the woods. I never listened to those weird techno beats or knew anything about shopping for cars. Instead of finding my own “thing”, I’d like to find one I can share with Ty.

 

 

3. Make out with a stranger.

No thanks. I’m not a tramp. That’s just asking for the herp.

 

 

4. Adopt a pet.

Heaven forbid I adopt a pet with another responsible, helpful adult. Yeah, I’d rather do it on my own, no help, no one to share the horror stories with. Again, this just sounds like something that would be so much better with a partner…

 

 

5. Start a band.

I’m not into this sort of thing, but if I was, I don’t see why I couldn’t do it if I was married. Wearing a ring & wearing a leash are two completely different things.

 

 

6. Make a cake. Make a second cake. Have your cake and eat it too.

Now, anyone who knows me knows that I spend a ridiculous amount of time in my kitchen baking. I’m addicted to cooking & love making delicious desserts. Desserts are my thing. But, I don’t think I would love it as much if I was the only one eating all this awesome cake.

 

 

7. Get a tattoo. It’s more permanent than a marriage.

Done & Done. My two tattoos happened before I was married to Tyler & I’m certain a few more will be popping up in the short future. Yup. Tattoos while wearing a wedding band. Oh, the anarchy!

 

 

8. Explore a new religion.

Again, something I’d love to do with a long-term partner. I’ve always attended a Protestant church, Tyler attending a Nazarene service. Coming together, while Christianity has many similarities under different branches, allows us to find a home that suits both of us. Without Tyler, I don’t think I would have this chance to research God & our faith, to find the perfect home for us.

 

 

9. Start a small business.

Why couldn’t you do this if you’re married….?

 

 

10.Cut your hair.

What. The. Fuck. ???

 

 

11. Date two people at once and see how long it takes to blow up in your face.

I have some words for this.

The Herp. The Sphy. The Clap.

CRABS.

Also, whore.

 

 

12. Build something with your hands.

Bitch, I’ve been making sand castles since I was in diapers.

 

 

13. Accomplish a Pinterest project.

Still sounds more fun with a partner.

 

 

14. Join the Peace Corps.

There’s not a rule in the “Qualifications” section that says you can’t be married.

 

 

15. Disappoint your parents.

Yeah, because after you get married, your parents stop giving you their advice or opinions.

 

 

16. Watch GIRLS, over and over again.

Wait for your Husband to work a late shift. Problem Solved.

 

 

17. Eat a jar of Nutella in one sitting.

Damn, now this girl is trying to make you fat so you really won’t ever get married.

 

 

18. Make strangers feel uncomfortable in public places.

Uh, why? Stupid.

 

 

19. Sign up for CrossFit.

“Couples who work out together, stay together.”

(I’d love to see someone finish off a jar of Nutella then try to do leg day).

 

20. Hangout naked in front of a window.
Seriously, this girl is a skank.
 

21. Write your feelings down in a blog.

Look at me! Married & blogging & shit.

 

 

22. Be selfish.

Because thinking of yourself stops when you’re married. Nope.

 

 

23. Come with me to the Philippines for Chinese New Year.

I don’t wanna go anywhere with you, you dirty, dirty twat.

But, I’d gladly go to the Philippines with my PARTNER.

 

 

I want to travel with someone who will cherish the experience with me. I want to stand under the Eiffel Tower and kiss my partner, or take a Safari with someone who loves me (and hippos.)

I got married at 22, my husband is 20.

When saying our vows, or planning the day, I never once thought, “Damn, there are so many things I can’t do now”.

What was on my mind, however, is how many things I can’t wait to share with my new husband.

Places I want to go, new food I want to try. I have never felt sheltered by joining my life with someone else.

Being married doesn’t mean I “belong” to Tyler.

We share our lives, but don’t control each other. I have my friends, he has his & we have some together.

Honestly, nothing changed when we got married.

That sounds weird to say, but it’s true.

He was already starting on his career & I knew I was going to finish school in 2014.

We lived together, shared two little kittens & slept in the same bed.

The day we got married, we came back to our room, turned on our TV & watched our favorite shows.

Marriage is not detrimental or defining

. It’s the most amazing journey I’ve ever encountered.

I can’t account for the future & I don’t know what will happen, but nothing could ever make me regret marrying young.

The more time I get to spend with Tyler next to me, the better.

 

 

Stay tuned for I hope many more guest posts by my friend Casey ❤

 

Comment your thoughts on what Casey had to say about getting married young!

3 comments

  1. Beth McKay · February 21, 2014

    I am Casey’s mom and I am living proof that marrying young can work. I married Casey’s dad when I was 19 he was 23. We had a great marriage and life together. We have 4 kids who are all awesome! We were married for 21years 8 months and 25 days till God decided he needed Russ home and parted us and if god had not chosen him we would still be married! So great blog Casey! Enjoying your 20’s and so on with a loving partner is worth it!

  2. Jennifer · February 21, 2014

    I think I just fell in love. This was awesome, Casey! Definitely hilarious and insightful!

  3. Casey Newvine · February 21, 2014

    Thank you so much for the love! ❤
    Casey!

Leave a Reply

