What will happen when I die?

I once asked my aunt this on a camping trip : “Aunt Tammie, what happens after you die?”

She, running out of patience after camping a few days with my brother and sister and I quipped: “They bury you and bugs eat you.”

We thought it was hilarious at the time.

 

I have thought so much about death and tried to figure out my answer to that question. Because frankly I want to have some sort of belief about it.

Here is one thing I know about death: It not something I want to be afraid of.

Ideally, I will die when I am very old, and with no regrets, and surrounded by people I love, and will then live on in the memories of others. I mean that is the dream right?

Realistically, that probably will not be how it happens but time will tell.

Anyway, we should not fear death. Why fear the unknown?

I don’t care what you believe happens to you when you die, but the fact is no one can possibly now 100% for sure.

I am either going to go to heaven, hell, or just cease to exist.

I believe in and certainly hope I am going to Heaven after I pass, but who can really say for sure.

So why fear it? 

People fear what they do not know I guess.

But I am not afraid

That is not to say I live my life recklessly.

No YOLO happening here

But I do not want to fear something I do not know or understand. That just seems silly to me, and maybe even a little arrogant. 

I was very inspired by Socrates and his thoughts on death which are this:

“To fear death, gentlemen, is no other than to think oneself wise when one is not, to think one knows what one does not know. No one knows whether death may not be the greatest of all blessings for a man, yet men fear it as if they knew that it is the greatest of evils.”

 

I mean, doesn’t that kind of make you stop and think and say “Duh”

It was such an eye opener to me.

None of this makes the thought of death or the death of others an easier, but for me it puts into a different perspective a little.

Thoughts?

Kind of a morbid topic today….

Oh and I believe in Ghosts. I have stories.

 

Leave a Reply

