Did they find that plane yet?

My mom asked me that the other day when I was over, “Have you been watching the news? Did they find that plane yet?”

My first thought was “It’s STILL missing?” Followed by lots of follow up thoughts and questions like “How do you lose a plane?”, “It must be some sort of government conspiracy”, and “That’s a little pathetic world, let’s get a move on”.

 

And also a brief detour to:

Image

But I responded with “No.”

A simple no.

And why?

Because I do not watch the news. I don’t want to.

I don’t want to know that a 12 year old boy got hit by a car or a mother murdered her seven children because the voices in her head told her.

I don’t want to hear it.

Imagine me plugging my ears and screaming ” la la la, I can’t hear you”

Maybe that’s not a good thing.

Maybe as a human and a citizen I should keep up with what is going on in the world. I mean, it certainly does affect me. But it breaks my heart to watch the news. It makes me cringe.

It makes me sick that I am of the same species that could partake in such awful, horrific behavior.

I don’t want to see people dying, students shooting up schools, or missing planes.

Have any of you seen Anchorman 2 (if not, rent it, hilarious)

Well they put on a news show that involves sports highlights, puppies, all things American, and cool storms. It obviously is a joke, but could the news be like that? I would watch the news all the time then. I love the few heartfelt stories they share on the news, but not enough to actually watch the news…

Don’t you just love when they say things like “and later, what three things in your house are actually killing you? the answer may surprise you. Tune in at 8 to find out!”

WHAT???

What do you mean??? Is it my bed? I’m laying in my bed. Should I just leave my house for the next few hours just in case?

You see it’s just all bad news.

I like to bring light into this dark world and spread love every day, as much as a can.

I try to help people and hug and love and hold open the door for you.

I try.

And in order to do that and keep my head up and keep a smile on my face, I need to NOT watch the news.

Because it just brings me down ya’ll

 

So, no, I don’t know if they found that plane yet. But, I hope that if they haven’t that they do find it soon.

 

 

 

 

3 comments

  1. dailydewmontnews · April 17, 2014

    I liked how the begging sort of tied in with the end. that was a fun piece that served as a good distraction from homework for me. If you havent checked out my blog yet, I would really appreciate it if you could give it a look and let me know what you think

  2. Plane · May 15, 2014

    You don’t have to watch the new to know if they found the plane. Just go to this site: http://www.didtheyfindtheplane.com

Leave a Reply

