#SELFIE

I want to know who took the first ‘selfie’

Who started this movement

*pauses to google*

 

Who the fuck is Robert Cornelius? Well I will tell you, again, thanks Google; he was a photographer in the 1800s!

Image

There it is in all it’s glory

#ancient #nofilter #latenight #selfie

 

 

No but really here is a modern day example of a ‘selfie’ (by the way my computer keeps trying to fix the word selfie, as if it’s not real….Keep up with the times computer)

Image

 

“Can you guys help me pick a filter?
I don’t know if I should go with XX Pro or Valencia
I wanna look tanned
What should my caption be?
I want it to be clever
How about “Livin’ with my bitches, Hashtag LIVE”
I only got 10 likes in the last 5 minutes
Do you think I should take it down?
LET ME TAKE ANOTHER SELFIE”

Prime example of a seflie, taken by me. I take a lot of effing selfies. I will take twenty pictures at a time, to keep one. A selfie Session.
DIfferent angles, and lighting, and poses and faces.
I am not going to even say ‘I know you all do it to!”
Because I do know.
 As in know, 100%. It happens.
Guys, girls, and adorable babies…
 
 
 
Image
 
Sorry but he is the cutest.
 
Anyway, this love of taking pictures of ourselves has apparently earned us the title of the ‘self-OBSESSED generation’
I wish I could stomp my feet and scream and protest and argue that, but I can’t really.
I mean we made taking pictures of our self a ‘thing’
 
Now I will say this title does not bug me much. I mean seflies are cool right?
 
Example:
 
The selfie heard round the world
Image
I mean Ellen broken the internet with this selfie people. Powerful
 
 
And of course the presidential selfie
 
Image
 
I mean…..
 
 
So I am really ok that I am part of the generation that got ‘selfie’ added to the Oxford dictionary as word of the year 🙂
You’re welcome America
 
 
BUT There is a serious issue that comes with so much self love though, which is I think some of us, young girls in particular,  are staring to base our self love on how many likes we get on a picture. 
 
Image
 
I mean you can actually buy likes for Instagram. Which is real fucking weird.
Weirds me out big time.
 
It is a social media website….Why do we care?
 
That’s what I don’t get, well I don’t like.
 
I mean when I make a Vine or post a picture that gets a lot of likes, It makes me feel good.
 
WHY???
 
I mean I am somewhat aware of how pathetic that is and try to not really pay too much attention to it but that’s because I have seen the other side.
I lived in a world before Selfies and Instagram and twitter and Facebook.
 
But lots of little girls and boys haven’t and that scares me a little.
 
They are growing up in a world where things like the “Selfie Olympics” is the norm
 
 
Image
(I mean come on!)
 
So I will say this, girls, your worth is not measure by how many likes you get on a picture. And you are beautiful. Do not let how many fake friends you have on an account influence how you feel about yourself.
 
🙂
 
IS this our future?
Image
 
BABY SELFIES!!!
 
 
Ok well hopefully not but …Hold on
Let me take a selfie
 
 
 

 

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Selfies: | QueenBeeingQueenBeeing
  2. Eli Pacheco · May 22, 2014

    1. As a 42-year-old man, not ever named Sexiest Man Alive or Leader of the Free World, I just can’t bring myself to pull the trigger on a selfie. My kids, on the other hand …

    2. That tooth-brushing selfie ought to go in the Library of Congress. Or at least get thumbs up or favorites somehow, somewhere.

    3. You’re right, about pinning self-worth to selfies. Especially young girls. I love the selfie as a symbol of expression; I detest it as an offering to the opinions of anonymous strangers to gauge a young girl’s beauty. That’s for her, solely.

    p.s. I have a baby selfie contest going on at my site right now. Entry must be by midnight tonight. Just sayin’.

  3. Pingback: Go Ask Daddy About Heroic Leaps, Basketball’s Birdman and Cosmetic Toxins |

Leave a Reply

