TMNT

Today I babysat a four year old.

It’s actually been a few years since I’ve had the pleasure of babysitting for anyone, so when a friend of mine needed me last minute I rose to the occasion.

I was supposed to be there at 7:30 their morning.

I went to bed at around 4:00 am. So, needless to say I was tired already.

It was a pretty easy gig, considering the kid slept until ten am (got to catch up on the Kardashians).

But from the minute he stumbled out of bed to the minute his mom came home this boy was full blown energizer bunny.

I had forgotten how wonderfully exhausting children can be.

We fought off all the evil villains from the series teenage mutant ninja turtles until I couldn’t breathe.

I loved seeing his constant imagination, the way we tiptoed around the house looking for the “bad guys” who kept conveniently disappearing right when we started to attack, and the way his nunchucks and sword chopped through the air.

While we planned our attacks we had to whisper and occasionally trade weapons of course to throw them off.

I had a blast.

I wasn’t thinking about everything I have to do this week or the bills I have to pay. I wasn’t thinking about the awful long stressful weekend I had. No.

I had some bad guys to slay.

I laughed at the way his eyes lot up when I got the hiccups. The way he smiled and offered me a root beer because he likes it so much and wanted to share.

Children are amazing, frustrating, beautiful, loud, fast, blurs that we all once were.

Remember? Remember imagining and playing all day? Remember when your biggest worry was how to spend your recess?

I’m glad to be growing up and moving forward but I also love a reminder to take everything as is. To just run sometimes an act silly. To be carefree.

6 comments

  1. Eli Pacheco · July 30, 2014

    1. Rule No. 1 when it comes to dealing with kids, especially the young ones: Never count your hours of sleep. Their sheer impossibility will depress you.

    2. I read recently in a blog that being with a child is having a wormhole into your own childhood. When you are a ninja turtle or Nerf gun stormtrooper or even a multi-colored parrot from Littlest Pet Shops, anything’s possible. And the “world” can take a number and wait.

    3. And how often do we grownups love something so much we want to share it? Well, I did, with this post. But I’m more stingy with my root beer. We can complain all we want about how kids fight over things, and they do. But there’s also a loving generosity inherent in children we should never lose.

    • justemily3 · July 30, 2014

      🙂 all good words my friend, per usual

  2. Izetta · August 2, 2014

    Those customers were genuinely rude and disrespectful, anyone would agree with you.

    Or you have a bad day which means you end up eating chips, donuts and chocolate while watching a film and
    all the time your self esteem drops lower and lower, in fact if it went any lower
    it was hit the opposite side of the world. When this day
    doesn’t deserve Bengals tickets, I don’t
    understand what does.

    • justemily3 · August 2, 2014

      I’m not really following… BUT I APPRECIATE ALL COMMENTS

  3. Pingback: #AtoZChallenge: I is for In This Moment
  4. stomperdad · April 12, 2016

    Found you through Eli and I see why he led me here. I have two boys (4and 8) and they are the same. We duel with lightsabers for the Jedi and the dark side. We take adventures through the backyard or on hikes. We build Lego, race tracks and towers to knock down. They play well with my inner child 🙂 Inspiring post!

Leave a Reply

