Robin

IMG_8751.JPG

I remember getting the news update on my phone that Robin Williams had died and I thought “it must be a different Robin Williams”. But I should have known better, he was one of a kind.

I have waited a few days to write this because I did not know (and forgive me, but even now I’m not sure I know) the right words to say.

How do you honor someone like Robin Williams?

How do you put into words how grateful you are that he followed his passions that led him to our screens and filled our hearts with laughter and joy time and time again?

Maybe just a thank you.

Thank you to his children for sharing their father with the world, I imagine that was a hard thing to do but we so appreciate it.

His performances always made me feel. Whether I was laughing until it hurt or I was crying, I was constantly entranced by him.

I have not seem anyone with his comedic style before and may never again. He was one of a kind.

It breaks my heart that someone who brought me and so many other so much joy did not have enough in his own life.

He fought his demons and lost and the world now feels like something is missing. A little piece of light and good in this world is now gone and all we can do it try to move on by continuing to laugh and celebrate and be lights in the world ourselves.

I feel privileged to have been around to see him work and enjoy his movies. I will cherish them always. To me they bring back childhood (I could probably quote Jumanji I’ve seen it so many times) memories and put a smile on my face.

Let this be a reminder that mental illness is a very real thing. Depression is a very really disease. If you are suffering please get help and maybe every more importantly.. If you see someone suffering reach out a helping hand. I will leave you with this quote by Stephen King which reminded me of our dear Robin.

I hope he is up there laughing and I hope he found his relief.

“Some birds are not meant to be caged, that’s all. Their feathers are too bright, their songs too sweet and wild. So you let them go, or when you open the cage to feed them they somehow fly out past you. And the part of you that knows it was wrong to imprison them in the first place rejoices, but still, the place where you live is that much more drab and empty for their departure.”

IMG_8752.JPG

One comment

  1. Pam · August 15, 2014

    Good job

Leave a Reply

