Resolution

Well let’s see I am only…13 days late with this post.

I wrote off making resolutions for New Years a while ago. I didn’t see the point. It became not “how can I better myself this year or what can I accomplish?” but  “Let’s see how long this lasts”.

But this year is different.

Love has a funny way of making you see the world in a whole new light I think.

Everything seems possible and doable and you want to better yourself and better the world.

Well maybe that’s just me.

So this year I have decided to really throw myself all into life, no matter what I am doing.

So not only did I make ten, yeah, that’s right, TEN resolutions. I am putting them on the interwebs so as to make myself more accountable (ok so I highly doubt anyone of my lovely readers will email me saying, “Emily, I have a feeling you didn’t go to the gym today”, BUT it still counts for something).

Ok here we go.

1. Blog more.

I really fell off the wagon guys, and for that I am sorry. I love writing, and my blog is such an awesome way for me to express myself and share bits and pieces of myself, and to anyone who takes the time to ready any of it, thank you. So this resolution is off to a positive start…

2. Give school more effort

I basically put in just enough effort to get by, but this year I’d like to try to get something out of school and make it less about passing and more about learning. I am still in my first week of the semester so we will see how far this optimism actually takes me.

3. Say “I love you” more

I am one of those romantic, gushy, gross, weirdo types. I say “I love you” A LOT already. 20 times a day maybe. Maybe more. If there is a brief moment of silence between G and I, I am always spewing out an “I Love you”. But life is short and I want to make sure it’s something I am feeling and saying everyday.

4. Be Happy

I need to be happier. I need to explore religion more. I need to eat better. I need to stop caring so much what others’ think. Just overall, be happy.

5. Take care of my body

I need to eat better, I need to be more routine. I need to exercise. I had to sprint up 8 flights of stairs today to rush to my class and I think I had a mini heart attack. I am 23….

6. Stand up for myself

I tend to let certain people steamroll over me. I WILL NO LONGER BE FLATTENED

7. Stop guilting myself about things that aren’t in my control

Listen, you are in no way shape or form responsible for other’s reactions to things you do or choices you make, so don’t feel guilty about it.

8. Get a dog

This is a big one. Our lease is up in September and we are 95% sure we will move to somewhere with a pool and that is pet friendly. I WANT A PUPPY FOR CHRISTMAS

9. Show my boyfriend more appreciation.

I never want to take him for granted. He does so much for us, I want him to always know how much he is appreciated.

10. Pray more

I need to pray more. I need to pray for others. I need to ask to be prayed for. Prayer is powerful. God is mighty.

Well that’s all folks. These are good resolutions because they require effort and change but they are totally doable.

Wish me luck

And I would LOVE to hear your resolutions!

Leave a Reply

